My 2013 Reading List: A Look Back

Okay so this post is related to this lovely blog. They’re awesome and have posted different questions (1 set relating to reading and 1 set relating to writing) as a way to look back on the books you read or wrote in 2013. It’s also part of a giveaway where the winner will pick from 4 e-books (The Revised Life of Ellie Sweet, OR Unbreathable, OR Steel Lily OR Click to Subscribe) so go check that page out and enter to win! Today I’m going to answer the reading-related questions. I’ll post links to the books’ Amazon pages so you can find their descriptions and purchase them if you’re so inclined. 🙂 Here we go!

What was your overall favourite book this year? (Yes. Pick one.)

I can’t. You’ve asked the impossible.

Which books did you reread this year?

The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith and Bottled Up by Jaye Murray.

Favourite cover(s) this year!

The Marbury Lens might be my favorite cover of all time.

marbury     passenger

Its sequel Passenger is just as good and when you put them on the shelf together, oh my god, even the books’ spines are awesome.

Lockdown, but actually all the books in this series have great covers, and I still need to read them all.

lockdown

Scowler, another one on my to-read list, but look at that cover. How could you not want to read it?

scowler

Worst cover(s)?

The Mortal Instruments City of Bones (movie tie-in version). This pisses me off to no end. It’s a complete rip off of The 10th Kingdom, a genius fantasy TV miniseries and novel from 2000.

mortal instruments          The 10th Kingdom

Which book(s) gave you a massive hangover?

The freaking Marbury Lens by Andrew freaking Smith. Every single time.

Best standalone you read?

Runner by Carl Deuker

Biggest book(s) you’ve read this year?

Tales of the Madman Underground by John Barnes.

Most disappointing book(s) you read this year?

I hate calling books out. But Feedback, the sequel to Variant , really disappointed me with its ending. It could have been so much better. But it was still a great book. Until that point.

Favourite leading-female character?

Did I read a book with a leading-female character?

Favourite leading-male character?

Sam in Hold Me Closer, Necromancer and Necromancing the Stone by Lish McBride.

Best romance(s)?

There’s this romance that gets flipped on its head in the book Variant by Robison Wells. I can’t even talk about it without giving away the twist.

What book(s) hit the DNF list? (Did not finish.)

I’m not going to say. A lot of times I start books and get 20-70 pages in and then stop because my mood changes and I want to read something else. But I usually go back to them. For example, I’ve been trying to finish one book since Xmas 2011. It’s going to happen.  I’m close.

What book(s) did you read out of your comfort-zone?

I read No Country for Old Men and The Great Gatsby for school. I liked both.

Which author did you read the most from?

Last year it would have been Andrew Smith. But this year it was Michael Harmon. I read Skate, The Chamber of Five, and The Last Exit to Normal, and I’m currently reading Under the Bridge. Also, Brutal is waiting for me on my shelf.

Top 5 books you’d recommend from all the books you’ve read this year?

Boot Camp by Todd Strasser. The topic this book covers really hits a nerve with me.

Last Night I Sang to the Monster by Benjamin Alire Saenz. A beautifully sad and sweet novel. It’s one of the books that has made me cry.

You by Charles Benoit. I loved the approach to this book, and the ending I did not see coming.

The Chamber of Five by Michael Harmon. I just love this author. He has a gift for voice. This novel has a way of making you feel uncomfortable because it’s so believable, and you don’t want to think the things within could happen.

Stick by Andrew Smith. Smith could write instructional manuals for furniture assembly, and I would buy them. But this book is much more honest and beautiful than those evil, rage-inducing things.

 How many books did you read this year all up?

Come on. I like reading not counting.

What’s a book you’re hugely excited for coming out in 2014?!

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. Yes. Please. Give it to me now.

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson. I love her books, and I’m thrilled to have a new one to get my hands on.

Hollow City: The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I’ve been waiting for this sequel! I’m so excited! The first one was such a pleasant surprise. I didn’t want it to end. I was ecstatic when it was left open for continuation. This will be a release day buy for sure.

That’s it! Have you read any of these titles too? Are you going to read any of them now? What does your 2013 reading list look like? Post below!

Be sure to visit the original blog to enter the giveaway and answer these questions yourself!

And stop by tomorrow for answers to the writing related questions!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My 2013 Reading List: A Look Back

  1. Cait

    I haven’t heard of The Marbury Lens books! Those covers are definitely awesome! Speaking of covers though, gosh, I’m shocked at the similarities between the City of Bones cover and the other one! I didn’t know the other one existed, but still. That’s a bit to copying, I think. And you read YOU? Oh, cool! I’ve had that one on my want-list for ages! I should look it up again. 🙂
    Thanks for joining in our linkup!

    • Thanks for checking out my post! Yeah when I first saw the movie poster I was shocked. Most people probably find it really beautiful and creative, and that’s why it bothers me because The 10th Kingdom is pure magic and came out way before this. Let me know what you think of You if you end up reading it! Thanks for replying! I was happy to participate! 😉

  2. I haven’t read any of these books, but they sound really good! Thanks for linking!

Leave a Reply

